Playing it cool at The Open!

The British Open is (currently) at Royal Liverpool golf course in Hoylake-a mere 40 minute drive from our house. So, because it doesn’t make sense not to, we decided to go for the first two days of Championship play. Or Thursday and Friday for you golf novices.

One of Matt’s college buddies came in from the states to ‘visit us’ and go. Sarah and I went on Thursday only, because we didn’t want to subject her to being quiet for two days in a row. She was a superstar by the way, being quiet when necessary (due to bribery.) And Matt and Kris returned on Friday.

We had an amazing time. We got to see some big names tee off (Tiger, Bubba, Ernie, Phil, Rory–I love that I can do first names!); walk the course, which was really pretty in a no-shade, near the water, sort of way; had great weather; and saw some nice shots throughout the day.

Now, I’m not the kind of person that gets awestruck, but I was really excited to see Bubba Watson. Seeing as he is a Georgia boy, I of course had to pick him as the one to follow for the tournament. He was in a group with Phil Mickelson (last year’s winner) and Ernie Els…so a really good group to follow for awhile.

Well, prior to seeing them tee off, I kept saying that I was going to ‘Play it Cool’ if we got near them.

Lo and behold, we were fortunately on the ropes as they walked from the 2nd hole to the 3rd tee box. So, we’re within 2 feet of them when I yell out, ‘Go Bubba’…….no response, no glance up (I mean he’s in the zone), so I say again, ‘Go Bubba’….nothing, nada. So, sigh, again, I say, ‘Go Bubba’. My adrenaline is going, I don’t care that I look the fool, it happened…all in a 5 second time span. I’m awesome. Until Matt says, ‘I thought you were going to play it cool?’

Whatever, I got to be within 2 feet of Bubba.

I think I was his good luck charm. he didn’t make the cut because he didn’t play well on Friday. I wasn’t there Friday. Coincidence???

(Sorry about the lack of photos, no cameras are allowed on championship days.)

This entry was posted in Life in England and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Playing it cool at The Open!

  1. Grandpa says:

    But did Kris and Matt play it as cool as you?

  2. nmrevercomb says:

    They played it much cooler than me!

  3. Molly says:

    Nikki!!! Why didn’t you give a Georgia Bulldog “ruff ruff” or however it’s spelled!??! He definitely would have looked up. šŸ™‚ Seriously – so incredibly cool. Thank you for sharing more of the story – and I’m not surprised at all with Sarah. She is a better traveler than many adults. šŸ™‚

  4. Carla Beyer says:

    Enjoyed your take on the golf tournament. I’m sure Sarah was great. She seems to go with the flow and enjoy wherever she is at the moment. Hope the guys had a good time.
    Carla

Leave a Reply

