We are here!

Sorry for the delay everyone! It took a little while to get internet set up here!

Napping at the airport!

Napping at the airport!

Sarah was a superstar during the 3 flights (that’s one more than we were supposed to have–crappy!); she actually took some pretty rocky turbulance alot better than I did (I won’t lie, there may have been some gasps escape my lips!) 

IMAG0937

Once here, there seemed to be only a few rough adjustment periods for all of us. Some sleepless nights and a grouchy baby made for a fun first week. And I’m sure it doesn’t help that there are only a handful of hours of actual darkness here right now…

The first week is truly a blur…we did alot of exploring our little village of Stretton, and also Stockton Heath and Warrington. Trying to find the grocery store (don’t worry, there are 3, including an ALDI!) was our initial priority. Fortunately, when we shipped stuff over, we were able to empty our non-perishable foods pantry into boxes, so we had a bit of stuff to get us through the first couple of days. (Yes, this does include 4 giant bottle of sweet baby ray’s, and 6 costco size bottles of Jif peanut butter-smooth and crunchy.) We lucked out in regards to big stores within 20 minutes of us: IKEA, Tesco (Target wannabe), Toys/Babies R Us, Warrington Town Centre–comparable to Castleton Square Mall.

Matt started working and I started my new day job as Vice-President of Operations and Marketing, and Controller of Revercomb Manor. Don’t worry…Matt is CFO and Sarah is CEO/President–everyone has a job around here and performance reviews will take place!

Now, I’ll be completely honest, going from a professional environment to a stay at home mom (SAHM) is so much harder than I thought it would be. I feel that I’m a pretty patient and creative person, but entertaining a baby, without a car at my disposal is difficult. There have been some tears–from both of us–and some breakdowns (from me) that Matt has had to deal with! But he has been a great support. Miss S and I finally have a bit of a routine in place, so that helps.

Can I say what a pain in the ass it was to get a phone for me. For the first 2 weeks, Matt let me borrow his US phone, since he got another work phone for the UK. I still technically don’t have one as I’m unable to get my own phone, under my own plan until I’ve lived here for 3 years. So, we had to go through Knuaf to get a phone for me. I didn’t have a choice, so I got a lovely Blackberry (I’m saying that sarcastically, but gratefully!)

We also finally just got ‘cable’ and internet here Friday (after almost a month of being here.) Try going that long without TV or internet and see how stir crazy you get!!

Despite some of the difficulties getting settled, we have really enjoyed being here. We brought awesome weather with us: high in the upper 70’s and lower 80’s and it has rained literally 4 of the days we’ve been here…just gorgeous! Our neighbors are awesome (more to come on that later)! Our neighborhood is fantastic. Matt hasn’t killed us yet driving on the wrong side of the car, on the wrong side of the road (BTW, I’m refusing to drive until we get our car because I don’t want to learn to drive the bus we’ve been renting, so we should be getting the new car this week.)

IMG_0251

Now, what can you look forward to in upcoming posts? Be excited for neighborhood gossip, awesome visitors and toilet talk!

This entry was posted in Life in England, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We are here!

  1. Carmen Henderson says:

    You’re hilarious, can’t wait to read more about your UK adventures 🙂 Couldn’t imagine moving overseas with a baby and a 5 HOUR time difference!

Leave a Reply

